Explore NABS

Award Nomination Deadline Thursday, 15 March 2012

General Messages
Posted: 3/11/2012
Expiration Date: 3/11/2022

The Awards Committee of the Society for Freshwater Science (formerly the North American Benthological Society) solicits and encourages nominations for the Award of Excellence (AoE), the Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the Hynes Award for New Investigators, and the Environmental Stewardship Award (ESA). Nomination letters with supporting documents (pdf form please) should be sent directly to the Chair of the specific award subcommittee (see below) by 15 March 2012. This deadline applies to all 4 awards. Questions regarding preparation of a nomination can be addressed by the Chair of the specific award subcommittee or the Awards Committee Chair (Dave Penrose, penrose.watershed.science@gmail.com).

Award of Excellence and Distinguished Service Award
The SFS AoE is awarded to a single recipient for outstanding contributions to benthic science. The scope of the award will reflect the broad interests and expertise exhibited in the Society, but the award will not be limited to members of the Society. The SFS DSA will go to a Society member who has made a genuine and lasting contribution to the betterment of the Society. For these awards, submit a letter of nomination, a curriculum vita and no more than 8 letters of support to Dr. Jill Lancaster at Jill.Lancaster@monash.edu.

Hynes Award for New Investigators
The Hynes Award for New Investigators will be awarded to a benthic scientist who was senior author of an outstanding primary publication in benthic science that appeared in print in the last 3 years (i.e., 2009 to availability online at 31 December 2011). The recipient must have received a terminal post-graduate degree within the last five years, and cannot currently be enrolled in a degree program. Nominations should consist of a letter explaining why the paper was outstanding to verify that the nominee satisfies the criteria, a copy of the paper for the committee to evaluate (in pdf form) and a curriculum vita. Send to Dr. Joseph Culp at Joseph.Culp@ec.gc.ca by March 15, 2012.

Environmental Stewardship Award
Recipient of the SFS Environmental Stewardship Award will be a Society member or non-member who has worked successfully to translate scientific knowledge into the social/public arena. This may occur in the policy arena via regulatory reform that requires or enables consideration of biological conditions (e.g., biological assessment or criteria), in the research arena via ecosystem rehabilitation or aquatic conservation, or in the educational arena via public outreach in science education. Successful candidates for this award must have demonstrated exceptional service in activities that implemented conservation or rehabilitation of aquatic ecosystems; developed a strategy to conserve, rehabilitate, or ecologically manage aquatic ecosystems; or advanced our science as the basis for making informed decisions regarding management of aquatic resources. Submit a letter of nomination and no more than 8 letters of support to David Feldman (dfeldman@mt.gov) by March 15, 2012.

What's New
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 27: Animal Migrations andnd Freshwater Nutrient Subsidies , Amanda Subalusky more
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 26: Carbon Fates, Dr. Erin Hotchkiss more
  • Does Cultural Diversity Matter to Scientific Societies? Read the President's Environment more
  • SFS Student Presentation Awards! more
  • In the drift just fell into your sampler! The Spring 2015 Newsletter is here! more
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 14: Nitrogen Fixation in a Warming World, Dr. Jill Welter more
  • The President's Environment: What's New? more
  • 4th International Symposium of the Benthological Society of Asia and 2nd Youth Freshwater Ecology School August 19-25, 2018

  • 2018 Benthic Ecology Meeting (BEM) in Corpus Christi, Texas, USA: 28-30 March 2018.


  • The deadline to submit proposals for AQUATROP Special Sessions or Symposiums is now November 17, 2017

  • SFS joins CASS in condemning silencing of EPA scientists

  • Andy Leidolf appointed as SFS Executive Director



More SFS News...

Back to Top
© 2015 Society for Freshwater Science
Membership Services:
(435) 797-9270 | sfsmembership@usu.edu