Explore NABS

2012 Instars Program Participants

The 2nd installment of the Instars Mentoring Program took place at the annual meeting May 20 – 24, 2012 in Louisville, Kentucky with 12 Instars Fellows.

Participants in 2012 Instars program workshop.

2012 Instar Fellows

  • Jesse Anaya (University of California at Merced)
  • Nigel Golden (University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point)
  • Amanda Hurst (Augusta State University)
  • Sereyvicheth Kaing (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Derrick Mayers (Georgia Southern University)
  • Carolina Mendez (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Gabriel Ng (Cornell University)
  • Chukwuka Okafor (Georgia Southern University)
  • Geoffrey Pittman (Georgia Southern University)
  • Jendai Robinson (Virginia State University)
  • Andrew Sanders (University of Arkansas)
  • Hua Truong (University of California at Berkeley)

2012 Graduate Mentors

  • Zacchaeus Compson (Northern Arizona University)
  • Erica Johnson (Georgia Southern University)
  • Nicholas Macias (Georgia Southern University)*
  • Jesse Maestas (Northern Arizona University)*
  • Ector Martell (University of Texas at El Paso)
  • Jeffrey Muehlbauer (University of North Carolina)
  • Alea Tuttle (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)

* denotes former Instars participant

2012 Instars Organizing Committee

  • Checo Colón-Gaud (Georgia Southern University)
  • Judy Li (Oregon State University)
  • Patina Mendez (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Tamara Sluss (Kentucky State University)
  • Marcelo Ardón-Sayao (East Carolina University)


What's New
  • Making Waves Ep. 23: Freshwater Salinization, Dr. Miguel Cañedo-Argüelles more
  • Announcement of SFS Endorsement of the March for Science more
  • March 2017 Issue of Freshwater Science now online more
  • 2017 Instars Fellowship applications now available more
  • What's happenin'? Find out the news In The Drift... more
  • Emily Bernhardt's President's Environment: Be Kind more
  • Read the Spring 2016 issue of in the drift! more
  • Upcoming deadlines for the Fourth Symposium on Urbanization and Stream Ecology

  • New BRIDGES cluster highlights rapid evidence synthesis in environmental causal assessments

  • New publication describes the fate and ecological effects of amphetamine on biofilm, seston, and aquatic insect communities

  • SFS Bibliography Update:  The 2014 SFS Bibliography is available. 

  • New publication describes dataset developed to assess aquatic condition and watershed integrity


More SFS News...

Back to Top
© 2015 Society for Freshwater Science
Membership Services:
(435) 797-7902 | sfsmembership@usu.edu