Explore NABS

2013 Instars Program Participants

The 3rd installment of the Instars Mentoring Program took place at the annual meeting May 19 – 23, 2013 in Jacksonville, FL with 13 Instars Fellows.

Participants in 2013 Instars program workshop.

2013 Instar Fellows

  • Geoffrey Pittman (Georgia Southern University)*
  • Arial Shogren (Vassar College)
  • Isa Valdez (University of Texas at El Paso)
  • Janet Hsiao (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Ivan Alvarez (University of Texas at El Paso)
  • Andrew Sanders (University of Arkansas)*
  • Bradley Richardson (Murray State University)
  • Andre Price (Elizabeth City State University)
  • Joseph Baecher (University of Arkansas)
  • Adolfo Barragan (University of Puerto Rico)
  • Stella Castro (Metropolitan University, Puerto Rico)
  • Amber Rymer (Southwestern Oklahoma State University)
  • Yer Lor (University of Wisconsin, Lacrosse)

2013 Graduate Mentors

  • Sean Kelly (University of Puerto Rico)
  • Erica Johnson (Georgia Southern University)
  • Nicholas Macias (Georgia Southern University)*
  • Scot Peterson (Murray State University)
  • Damon Mullis (Georgia Southern University)*
  • Pedro Torres (University of Georgia)
  • Christian Andresen (University of Texas at El Paso)

* denotes former Instars participant

2013 Instars Organizing Committee

  • Checo Colón-Gaud (Georgia Southern University)
  • Judy Li (Oregon State University)
  • Patina Mendez (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Tamara Sluss (Kentucky State University)
  • Marcelo Ardón (East Carolina University)
  • Krista Capps (University of Maine)


What's New
  • Making Waves Ep. 23: Freshwater Salinization, Dr. Miguel Cañedo-Argüelles more
  • Announcement of SFS Endorsement of the March for Science more
  • March 2017 Issue of Freshwater Science now online more
  • 2017 Instars Fellowship applications now available more
  • What's happenin'? Find out the news In The Drift... more
  • Emily Bernhardt's President's Environment: Be Kind more
  • Read the Spring 2016 issue of in the drift! more
  • Upcoming deadlines for the Fourth Symposium on Urbanization and Stream Ecology

  • New BRIDGES cluster highlights rapid evidence synthesis in environmental causal assessments

  • New publication describes the fate and ecological effects of amphetamine on biofilm, seston, and aquatic insect communities

  • SFS Bibliography Update:  The 2014 SFS Bibliography is available. 

  • New publication describes dataset developed to assess aquatic condition and watershed integrity


More SFS News...

Back to Top
© 2015 Society for Freshwater Science
Membership Services:
(435) 797-7902 | sfsmembership@usu.edu