Explore NABS

2016 Instars Program Participants

The 6th installment of the Instars Mentoring Program took place at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Freshwater Science May 21 - 26, 2016 in Sacramento, CA with 16 Instars Fellows.

2016 Instar Fellows

  • Anthony Sanabria (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Adamaris Muniz-Tirado (University of Puerto Rico)
  • Emily Wolfe (Evergreen State College)
  • Arianna Nuri (university of California at Berkeley)
  • Sergio Mendoza (California State University - Long Beach)
  • Guido Herrera (Pontificia Universidad Javeriana)
  • Jessica Gomez (California State University Stanislaus)
  • Roberto Reyes-Maldonado (University of Puerto Rico)
  • Jaynell Nicholson (Kent State University)
  • Sabrina Kamae (California State University - Long Beach)
  • Ida Clarke (Black Hills State University)
  • Tessa Durnin (Northern State University)
  • Christina Lew (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Nathan Nguyen (California State University Stanislaus)
  • Josian Sanchez (University of Puerto Rico)
  • Natalie Ruiz-Castillo (Cameron University)

2016 Graduate Mentors

  • Brianna Henry (Clarion University)
  • Francisco Guerrero (Oregon State University)
  • Keysa Rosas (Georgia Southern University)
  • Arial Shogren (University of Notre Dame)*
  • Andrew Sanders (North Carolina State University)*
  • Francine Mejia (University of Idaho)
  • Beth Ogata (Utah State University)
  • Nick Macias (University of California at Santa Cruz)*
  • Limarie Reyez (University of Puerto Rico)*
* denotes former Instars participant

2016 Instars Organizing Committee

  • Checo Colón-Gaud (Georgia Southern University)
  • Judy Li (Oregon State University)
  • Patina Mendez (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Tamara Sluss (Kentucky State University)
  • Marcelo Ardon (East Carolina University)
  • Krista Capps (University of Georgia)
  • Zacchaeus Compson (Northern Arizona University)
  • Carla Atkinson (University of Alabama)
  • Pedro Torres (University of Georgia)
What's New
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 27: Animal Migrations andnd Freshwater Nutrient Subsidies , Amanda Subalusky more
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 26: Carbon Fates, Dr. Erin Hotchkiss more
  • Does Cultural Diversity Matter to Scientific Societies? Read the President's Environment more
  • SFS Student Presentation Awards! more
  • In the drift just fell into your sampler! The Spring 2015 Newsletter is here! more
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 14: Nitrogen Fixation in a Warming World, Dr. Jill Welter more
  • The President's Environment: What's New? more
  • 4th International Symposium of the Benthological Society of Asia and 2nd Youth Freshwater Ecology School August 19-25, 2018

  • 2018 Benthic Ecology Meeting (BEM) in Corpus Christi, Texas, USA: 28-30 March 2018.


  • The deadline to submit proposals for AQUATROP Special Sessions or Symposiums is now November 17, 2017

  • SFS joins CASS in condemning silencing of EPA scientists

  • Andy Leidolf appointed as SFS Executive Director



More SFS News...

Back to Top
© 2015 Society for Freshwater Science
Membership Services:
(435) 797-9270 | sfsmembership@usu.edu