Explore NABS

About the SRC 

Official Duties of the SRC

The Student Resources Committee (SRC) shall have a Chairperson unanimously elected from the SRC and approved by the President-elect, and an Executive Committee (EC) representative who shall usually be the immediate chair and is appointed by the President-elect. An upper cabinet shall be composed of six individuals: two administrators (Chairperson and EC Representative) and four standing subcommittee chairpersons (Endowment Festivities, Workshop, Publicity, and Mentoring Community Development). Additional membership in the SRC shall be unlimited. The SRC Chairperson, Chairperson-elect, EC representative, and standing subcommittee chairpersons shall have the ability to unanimously appoint other student members to subcommittees. If the past-Chair is not able to serve as the SRC nominee to the EC, the SFS President will select the EC Representative in consultation with the SRC Chair. The SRC membership will include a member from the university hosting the upcoming meeting who will serve as a liaison with the SFS Local Arrangement Committee. It shall be the duty of this committee to 1) provide representation for SFS student body within other SFS committees; (2) facilitate cooperation and interaction among student members of SFS; (3) raise funds for the SFS Endowment to the benefit of SFS students; and (4) generate new ways to accommodate SFS students’ inputs and needs.

History of the SRC

Students have always been an integral part of SFS. While students have served on SFS committees over the years, it was not until 1995 when the SFS Executive Committee (Ex Comm) elected a student, Jennifer Tank, to a one-year appointment as the student representative.

Two years later, SFS President Gary Lamberti formed the Graduate Resources Committee (GRC) with Kristopher Wright serving as the first GRC Chair.

In 1999, the GRC became a standing committee, with two administrators (the Chair, originally elected by the SFS President, and the ExComm representative), five members of an ‘upper cabinet’ and 10 additional student members.

In 2002, membership to the GRC was opened to all interested students. The Chair is now elected by GRC members and the previous year’s GRC Chair serves as GRC ExComm representative.

In 2013, the name of the GRC was changed to the "Student Resources Committee (SRC)" to be more inclusive of the growing participation by undergraduate students in the society.

The SRC has continued to grow over the years, with over 60 members in 2010.

Summarized from ‘Beneath the Surface: A history of SFS’ by Rosemary Mackay.

SRC Chairs: 1997-Present

  • Kristopher Wright (1997-1998)
  • Romi Burks (1998-1999)
  • Lara Martin (1999-2000)
  • Ashley Moerke (2000-2001)
  • Steven Reynolds (2001-2002)
  • Karen Gaines (2002-2003)
  • Lisa Shama (2003-2004)
  • Paula Furey (2004-2005)
  • Robert Payn (2005-2006)
  • Checo Colón-Gaud (2006-2007)
  • Eric Sokol (2007-2008)
  • Lisa Kunza (2008-2009)
  • Natalie Griffiths (2009-2010)
  • Erin Hotchkiss (2010-2011)
  • Lauren Kinsman-Costello (2012-2013)
  • Dustin Kincaid (2013-2014)
What's New
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 26: Carbon Fates, Dr. Erin Hotchkiss more
  • Fall 2017 Issue of In the Drift now available! more
  • September 2017 Issue of Freshwater Science now online more
  • Does Cultural Diversity Matter to Scientific Societies? Read the President's Environment more
  • SFS Student Presentation Awards! more
  • In the drift just fell into your sampler! The Spring 2015 Newsletter is here! more
  • Making Waves Podcast Episode 14: Nitrogen Fixation in a Warming World, Dr. Jill Welter more
  • The deadline to submit proposals for AQUATROP Special Sessions or Symposiums is now November 17, 2017

  • SFS joins CASS in condemning silencing of EPA scientists

  • Andy Leidolf appointed as SFS Executive Director



    Over 60 logos were submitted by 28 individuals and narrowed to 3 finalists. Now is your chance to select the winner.

  • SFS signs two letters sent to the US EPA regarding the Trump Administration's proposed revisions to the Waters of the US rule


More SFS News...

Back to Top
© 2015 Society for Freshwater Science
Membership Services:
(435) 797-9270 | sfsmembership@usu.edu